Write For Us

Friday Five - Top PBA Players Championship Moments Since 2011 Revival

Google Rank
Friday Five, January 8, 2021 - five of the best PBA Players Championship moments since the tournament returned in 2011. Formerly known as the Touring Players Championship, the event was not held from 2000-2010. The event resumed in 2011, then in 2013, and from 2015 to the present.

Subscribe to the PBA on YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/PBAYouTube

#PBA #FridayFive

Jason Belmonte won the Elite Players Championship in 2011. At the time, it didn't have major status, but when the event was retroactively credited as a major in 2015, it officially became Belmonte's first ever major championship, even though he'd won five other majors by that time.

Parker Bohn III won the 2015 event by defeating Ronnie Russell in a rolloff. It was the 34th career title for Bohn, tying him with Mark Roth for fifth most all-time. Later that season, Bohn won the Cheetah Championship and now holds fifth place by himself with 35 career titles.

A clutch performance from Tom Smallwood overtook Belmonte in 2018, earning Smallwood his second career major title.

Bill O'Neill won his second major title in 2020, defeating top seed EJ Tackett in the championship match.

In 2019, Anthony Simonsen became the youngest player in PBA Tour history to win two majors, defeating Belmonte in the title match.
bowling, professional bowlers association, ten-pin bowling
Sign in or sign up to post comments.
Be the first to comment